The Barents region
The region is geographically surrounded by 4 seas: the Norwegian Sea to the West, the Barents Sea, the White Sea and the Karskoe Sea to the North.
The Barents region (Also the Barents and the Euro-Arctic region) is the territories located in the northern part of Europe, mainly to the North from the Arctic circle, around the Barents Sea, which were united in the international organization on the 11th of January of 1993 with the aim of developing of the international cooperation.

Pechora and Dina are the largest rivers, Onega and Ladoga lakes are the largest lakes. 75% of this territory is located in Russia.

The largest city of the Barents region is Arkhangelsk with the population of 350 000 people.
1,9 mln km²

The territory of the region
1.755.800 km²

The land area
6 mln of people

The population
This Euro-Arctic region is famous for its severe climate and long distances.
But no other European region or some other places in the world can be compared with it for the quantity of its natural resources - forests, fish, minerals, oil and gas.

In addition to the prosperity of its natural resources, the Barents region is famous for one more important thing - it's the connecting point between The European Union and Russia.

The Barents region forms a single natural area that connects the northern parts of Europe and Russia. Boreal-Arctic nature is one of the largest reserves of intact natural ecosystems on the Earth.
The region includes 14 relevant administrative entities in Russia, Norway, Finland and Sweden:
Russia: Murmansk and Arkhangelsk regions, Nenets autonomic district, republics of Komi and Karelia.

Norway: Finnmark, Trums and Nurland

Finland: Lapland, Oulu and Kainu

Sweden: Norrbotten and Västerbotten